Interview with Chris Martin: Professor and Web Developer

Portrait of Chris MartinChris Martin has been a web developer since 1997. Chris is also a documentary film maker, writer, speaker and professor here at Clark College. Chris started teaching about a year and a half ago, which has inspired him to learn even more about the subjects he teaches: Web Design, Web Multimedia Content, and Web Video Production.

Chris loves people. He loves listening to people talking about their passions. Chris believes first and foremost that stories matter. Because of that his mission is to tell stories about people, businesses and organizations that are positively impacting others throughout their communities and around the world.

“In Internet years, I am ancient and have had to redefine my skills and abilities several times based upon changing technologies and amazingly smart people who have developed open source projects such as WordPress.”

Here are a few sites that Chris created with the use of WordPress:

How long have you been using WordPress?

I started using WordPress around 2008 because I needed a content management system that was easy to implement and robust for my clients to administer their own websites.

What is the primary way you use WordPress?

I primarily use WordPress as a content management system for small business and non-profit websites.

What made you decide to use WordPress to develop sites?

Early in my career, I would often create my own backend PHP content management system, recreating the wheel each time. I eventually learned that I wanted to use my time more efficiently, and that led me to research content management systems such as Drupal, Joomla, and WordPress. My PHP skills were limited at the time, so WordPress was the easiest to learn and implement on a server, and I haven’t really looked back.

How has using WordPress benefited you?

WordPress has made designing, developing, and launching websites much easier over time

Would you recommend WordPress to others? Why or Why Not?

Learning to develop websites with WordPress is a great place to start and many people have established careers because of WordPress. I would encourage people to keep an open mind about technology. Spend more time fostering new ideas and developing solutions to problems. Remain as platform-agnostic as possible.

Do you plan to continue using WordPress? If so why?

There are certain applications that I will continue to use WordPress for: basic e-commerce websites with PayPal integration, blog functionality, and simple websites that need content management systems but lack a budget for maintenance.

Any last minute thoughts to include?

Keep learning about the fundamental technologies that WordPress is built upon: HTML, CSS, and PHP. WordPress is not always the correct answer to every development question.

One thought on “Interview with Chris Martin: Professor and Web Developer”

Leave a Reply

