Jennette Enjoys the magical scenery that Mt. Adams offers

Jennette Quigley Gives Us Her Thoughts On WordPress

I talked with Jennette Quigley, Clark College’s WordPress CTEC 160 assistant instructor and WordPress web designer about her involvement in the WordPress community.the only image of jennette that exists

Michelle: How long have you been using WordPress?

Jennette: Since 2010, but I took my first HTML class in 1999 and redesigned my first website in 2001 at a radio station where I used to work.

Michelle: How long have you been involved in WordPress at Clark College?

Jennette: I started two years ago as a student, and I told Lorelle I wanted to start teaching WordPress and she pulled me in to co-teach. This is my first time co-teaching, and my goal is to continue a career in adult education. I have a bachelors degree in IT and a MA in business and would very much like to put my education to use.

Michelle: Are you working with WordPress full-time?

Jennette: No, I have a full-time job in health insurance. I would like to work in WordPress full-time, but I have a really good job.

Michelle: How are you working with WordPress now?

Jennette: Right now I am doing maintenance and making updates on the sites I manage. WordPress and all things web-related, is addicting and many times I can’t pull myself away.

Michelle: How did you get involved in WordPress?

Jennette: A client came to me in 2010 and needed someone to maintain his site. It was built on the WordPress platform and was the first I had ever worked with. When I needed help, I started going to the Portland WordPress user groups, and I found the people very helpful. They helped answer my questions no matter how stupid they were. That is where I met Lorelle. After that I took the WordPress Class at Clark.

Michelle: What do you find most helpful in WordPress?

Jennette: WordPress has so many tools and built in features that you would have to otherwise create on your own on other sites. It is very user friendly.

Michelle: How many WordPress sites have you built from the ground up?

Jennette: Two, but I have redesigned and maintained many sites that are not in WordPress. I would love to work with WordPress full time.

Michelle: What feature do you find most helpful in WordPress?

Jennette: A Plugin called Post Expirator. I manage a site with coupons. I can put the coupons in and add start dates and expiration dates, and the Plugin will automatically add and remove the coupon on the appropriate date. It saves me a lot of time.

Michelle: Which Widget do you like the best?

Jennette: Text Widget. It is very versatile; you can do so much with it.

Michelle: Where do you find the most WordPress help?

Jennette: User groups, WP forums…make sure you use the right language, tutorials on wordpress.com and siteground.com. On siteground.com you can access help with text and visual examples and videos.

Clark WP has a second interview post on Jennette Quigley.

Leave a Reply

