There may be a day when you realize that the WordPress.com blog address that you signed up with, may not be the one you want to stay with. If that is the case, you have a few options. You can:
- Change your domain name and keep all your current content.
- Take out all of your posts, or at least the ones you don’t want, but keep the same name.
- You can make your site completely private so that no one can see it.
- You can transfer your site to someone else.
If you really want to completely delete your WordPress.com site, there is a way. You need to understand though that
it will be permanent!
How to permanently delete your WordPress.com site:
- Before you erase anything, make sure you empty your site of anything you want to save. Once you delete it, all of the information will be gone.
- In your WP Admin, hover over “Tools” and click on “Delete Site.”
- You will need to choose a reason why you want to delete your site. This helps WordPress.com know why people are leaving WordPress.com and what they might need to work on to make sure people are happiest with it.
- On the next screen you will need to answer a few questions relating to deleting your site and then you will click the “delete” button.
- At this point, WordPress gives you one more chance to really make sure that you want to permanently delete your site by making you check one more box confirming it.
- You will then receive an email at the email address listed on your WordPress.com site. In that email there will be a link that you will need to click on in order to really, truly, FINALLY delete your WordPress.com blog.
- It is at that point that you will officially no longer have access to your site. It will be deleted.
For More Information: